Tornados can be good. Sometimes.

I can’t believe it’s been over a month since I wrote that last post about my depression.  I want to thank everyone who has reached out and supported me since then.  You have all been so great!  It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one.

My life has been such a crazy tornado of activity since then.  Only three days after I wrote that post, Joe and I took a trip to Bloomington for the weekend and while we were there we got engaged.  Yep!  Engaged!  We’re getting married September 1, 2012.  We’re very excited, but planning a wedding is stressful!  Who knew there were so many decisions to be made?!

My beautiful ring

Showing off my new ring!

We already have our venue (my uncle’s house, in the backyard {yes, there will be tents just in case}), our DJ, our photographer, and my dress.  Oh, my dress.  It’s so beautiful and I wish I could share it, but I can’t because I know Joe reads this.  Just take my word for it.  Beauty in dress form.

We’re definitely on a budget for this wedding, which is good and bad.  Good because we won’t blow our life savings on what really comes down to being a party; and bad because it’s hard to entertain 100 of your closest friends and family when you don’t have a heck of a lot of money to spend.  And you want to be able to remember the day with pictures.  And flowers aren’t cheap.  Oh, and Joe just quit his job so we’re down to one income for a while (gulp).  (It was the best thing, really.  That place is awful.  No one should ever work there.  I’ll be surprised if it’s even in business in a year.)

There will be a lot of DIY at our wedding, much of which I will probably post here to give other brides-to-be ideas on how to do their wedding and reception without going broke.  It can be done, and Joe and I are (hopefully!) going to do it!

Speaking of which, does anyone have any good ideas for food for our reception?  I want it to be original, fun, not stuffy, and yet still inexpensive.  For around 100 guests.  Think it’s possible?  Let me know!

Leave a Reply

