You can do it!

That’s what I need to keep telling myself.  It won’t be easy.  There will be times when I think I’m too tired to do it.  I’ll even want to give up and throw in the towel.  But it is something I want to do.  It is something I can do.  And I will do it.

You’re probably thinking that I’m talking about a New Year’s resolution I made (and boy howdy there are plenty of those).  Losing weight, perhaps?  Maybe eating healthy?  Or even trying to save money.

But you’d be wrong.

I am committing to the Post a Week campaign organized by WordPress.  They also have a Post a Day campaign for the go-get-‘im bloggers out there.  I would fall under that category if I didn’t have so many other things going on in my life at the moment.  Sure, I could post every day, but then I’d probably have to give up some school time.  I don’t need to study for that test.  I have a blog to write!

I’m sure any potential future employers would completely understand.

While I am committing to posting once a week, I will strive to post more often.  A blog, especially if you’d like it to be a successful one, needs to be nurtured in order to thrive.  You can’t have a blog out there that gets updated once every month or so and expect it to be read by hundreds.  If you want that many people to read your blog, you have got to share it with those people.  That doesn’t mean you need to post a thought-provoking, grabs-you-by-the-seat-of-your-pants post every time, either.  Posting a favorite picture, or a link to your new favorite local shop, or even just a small thought can be just what your blog needs to stay healthy.

So, that is the idea that I’m approaching this blog with.

You — yes you.  Right there — can help me meet this goal I’ve set for myself.  How?  You can help by commenting, leaving words of encouragement, hitting the “like” or “share” button.  All of those actions let me know that there really is someone out there reading the words I’m writing.

If I think I’m not doing a bang-up job meeting this goal, I will ask for help.  Maybe I’ll need a topic suggestion.  Maybe I’ll need advice.  Whatever I’m asking for, please don’t hesitate to offer your help.

Thank you all,

Katie

Leave a Reply

