The internet is my friend

Sometimes I feel like the internet is a cold and lonely place.  Everywhere I go people seem to be berating each other and spewing their hateful opinions.  That isn’t to say that people aren’t entitled to their opinions, I just wish that more of the world was open to other people’s viewpoints and slower to push their own on others.

Then there are the other bloggers.  You know the ones.  They’re the bloggers that everyone reads.  Heck, you read them yourself!  And enjoy them!  And then you wonder why your blog isn’t so widely read (because it’s brand! spanking! new! in my case, but still), why people don’t comment so quickly on your posts, what you have to do to get noticed.

Just when you get so down in the dumps about your blog, yourself, the internet and the world in general, something happens that makes you realize that there are people out there who read your blog, who know you, and who care.

Today was one of those days for me.  I was reading all kinds of blogs by all kinds of people from all over the country and feeling rather insignificant when I got on facebook and saw that she was answering turkey questions on the Butterball facebook page.  I actually did have a turkey question I needed answered, so I moseyed on over there and asked.  When I read the response, it felt like it came from a friend.  She recognized me, she knew me, and even though we haven’t met in real life I feel like I know her, too.

In fact, some of my best friends and favorite people are those I have met online.  There’s Chris whom I met on twitter but have yet to meet in real life.  You better believe the next time I’m in England I’m calling him up for some tea and maybe some football (he can pick which kind).

Then there’s Nichole, who is involved with so many things I can’t pick just one to link to here.  How about this?  Or this?  If it wasn’t for Nichole and her awesome husband Aaron and their willingness to allow a strange girl to come into their home so they could take her to a New Year’s Eve party, I don’t know what my life would be like today.  She introduced me to my boyfriend that night.  He and I haven’t spent many days apart since then.  A total of six.  In eleven months.  And now I live with him and can’t imagine my life without him.

I can’t forget Suzanne and Brooke, who co-founded Run 4 Life Indy, and allowed me to be a part of an amazing foundation.  I hope we can bring RFLI back to the forefront again for the mini marathon in May.  It is such a great organization and really makes me feel like what I do can make a difference.  And it helps motivate me to run, which is a good thing for me.  My waistline thanks me when I do that.

And speaking of running, MK (sorry, her twitter profile is private), and her insatiable appetite for marathons, keeps me motivated like no other person can.  This girl ran her first marathon last year and just finished her (I hope I get this right…I just can’t keep track!) fifth (I think).  If I ever need a kick in the butt to get myself moving, I just need to read about the workout she just did and I’m out the door.  She is amazing!

Then there’s Pamela (NOT Pam!), who always helps me with any nutrition question I have.  And Johnny, who is always there with a kind word when I’m feeling down.  Troy helps me protect my ComedySportz mayorship on foursquare.  Tamre helps me get my drink on with new beers I would never have heard of otherwise.

There are the people I met online years ago that I have fallen out of touch with.  I would never have gone to Boston, which is my favorite city in the United States, without one of them.  Scranton and Allentown, Pennsylvania would have always been places I’d only heard of if not for a whole group of online friends.  (And, believe it or not, I have some amazing memories of both of those towns because of a road trip I made five years ago.)  I never would have learned of the deliciousness of New Belgium Brewery’s Sunshine Wheat beer if not for meeting a couple of twin brothers in a chat room twelve years ago, before chat rooms became scary, seedy places.  Florida, specifically Orlando, will always remind me of another online friend.

Who knows who or what the internet will bring me next?  Will I meet her someday?  I would love to go to her house, if only for the animals.  I think her kitchen must be what heaven smells like.  I want a little of her decorating talent and luck at discovering finds in unlikely places to rub off on me.  And while MK inspires me to get up and get moving, she reminds me to take it slow.  She makes the cutest little monsters and is the reason I got into blogs and blogging in the first place.  Who knew this would all start because I did a Google image search to see what hives look like?

So, who inspires you?  Which blogs in your reader do you most look forward to reading?  Who from the internet have you met that has changed your life in some way?  Tell me.  I need to know who’s out there that I haven’t found yet.  (Insert: shameless plug)  And tell people about me.  I need some comments to remind me that the internet is a place I love.

6 thoughts on “The internet is my friend

  1. Pingback: That’s a good-a meat-a ball! « It's What Katie Did

  2. The internet is the biggest small place you will ever find yourself, that’s what I decided. It’s amazing community if you allow yourself to be a part of it.

    Sounds like you’re ready to dive in! And also, I would love to go shopping with you sometime, as long as you like to scrounge in the dirt for deals!

    • I love shopping. And shopping for deals on amazing stuff? Even better! I get to take home awesome things AND I don’t have to pay an arm and a leg for it! We should make this happen.

  3. I was so happy to see a question from someone I “KNEW!” And to know it was a legitimate question and you weren’t just making it up to make me feel better and look like I was doing something productive? WIN.

    Why have we never hung out. Strange.

    It will be fixed. Believe you me.

    Turkey lessons perhaps?

Leave a Reply

